Jump to content


Photo

Discussion: BG2 Kit Creation Series


387 replies to this topic

#31 Andyr

Andyr

    HELLO EVERYBODY

  • Gibberlings
  • 4534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oxford, UK

Posted 20 July 2004 - 12:36 PM

I had a look, there aren't even any K_M_X.2DA files. Though apparantly if you play like there were then the game doesn't mind and acts as if they always existed... I haven't tested this though.
Since you're here, download G3 mods please...

Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

The most reliable way to get hold of me is via email (button when viewing my profile).

#32 Andyr

Andyr

    HELLO EVERYBODY

  • Gibberlings
  • 4534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oxford, UK

Posted 20 July 2004 - 12:51 PM

Hmm, just tested. WeiDU doesn't like to append to K_M_X.2DA, and if you put a dummy one in it doesn't change the kits available. It might be possible to unlock the mage kits for those restricted by race, though, but I haven't tested it. Looks like they can't be added for pic at character generation though.
Since you're here, download G3 mods please...

Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

The most reliable way to get hold of me is via email (button when viewing my profile).

#33 Loriel

Loriel
  • Fixpackers
  • 39 posts

Posted 20 July 2004 - 02:16 PM

Let me just clarify - when I'm making my kit with Weidu, what do I put in the section for race restrictions? Will Weidu choke at that point if the 2da's don't exist? Do I need to put the K_M_X stuff even though the files aren't present or do I leave it blank? I'm not worried about it not being selectable at character generation, but I would rather not have to do a stupid jester dance (pun intended) just to apply a mage kit.

#34 Andyr

Andyr

    HELLO EVERYBODY

  • Gibberlings
  • 4534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oxford, UK

Posted 20 July 2004 - 02:39 PM

WeiDU chokes because the K_M_X don't exist. :groucho:

If you copy over a blank file and call it K_M_H.2DA or whatever WeiDU won't choke, and it appends, but the game seems to ignore the file. ??? In short, no joy.
Since you're here, download G3 mods please...

Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

The most reliable way to get hold of me is via email (button when viewing my profile).

#35 Guest_Guest_*

Guest_Guest_*
  • Guests

Posted 20 July 2004 - 03:30 PM

is it possible to have more than one kit active at a time? like a multiclassed conjurer/priest of lathander?

#36 Andyr

Andyr

    HELLO EVERYBODY

  • Gibberlings
  • 4534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oxford, UK

Posted 20 July 2004 - 03:42 PM

Sort of, I think, using the AddSuperKit() scripting action. This (I think) changes your kit but leaves you with your old abilities, as opposed to AddKit() which replaces them.

Couldn't be used at the start of the game, though.
Since you're here, download G3 mods please...

Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

The most reliable way to get hold of me is via email (button when viewing my profile).

#37 Idobek

Idobek

    Dust Bunny

  • Gibberlings
  • 1001 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:England

Posted 20 July 2004 - 04:52 PM

Only one kit can be active at any one time. You will only gain kit abilities at level up in the active kit, the other half of a multiclass would be treated as a trueclass. However, in the case of specialist mages it is probably possible to fudge something so the other kit gives the appropriate bonuses/restrictions.
Did you know G3 has secret forum rules?
Yep. They're generally of the nature 'don't annoy Idobek.'

#38 Loriel

Loriel
  • Fixpackers
  • 39 posts

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:15 PM

WeiDU chokes because the K_M_X don't exist. :groucho:

If you copy over a blank file and call it K_M_H.2DA or whatever WeiDU won't choke, and it appends, but the game seems to ignore the file. ??? In short, no joy.

But the kit would still be available by using AddKit() wouldn't it? You just couldn't select it at character creation. Or does AddKit() also check for race restrictions?

#39 Andyr

Andyr

    HELLO EVERYBODY

  • Gibberlings
  • 4534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oxford, UK

Posted 20 July 2004 - 05:17 PM

AddKit doesn't check for race restrictions, no.

I don't think you need to add it to a K_M_X.2DA to use AddKit, I think the line in the .tp2 where you specify the unusability flag and the parent class (eg 0x00004000 1 ) is enough to call it a Mage kit for these purposes.
Since you're here, download G3 mods please...

Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

The most reliable way to get hold of me is via email (button when viewing my profile).

#40 Loriel

Loriel
  • Fixpackers
  • 39 posts

Posted 20 July 2004 - 06:07 PM

Perfect, I'll try it out!

#41 Andyr

Andyr

    HELLO EVERYBODY

  • Gibberlings
  • 4534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oxford, UK

Posted 20 July 2004 - 06:15 PM

Please, post anything you find. :groucho:
Since you're here, download G3 mods please...

Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

The most reliable way to get hold of me is via email (button when viewing my profile).

#42 Guest_Corvin/ddr/_*

Guest_Corvin/ddr/_*
  • Guests

Posted 09 August 2004 - 04:06 PM

Greetings.

Is ther a way to get turning and casting ability away from a paladin kit?

#43 CamDawg

CamDawg

    Just returned from a triumphant carpet-bombing of Eden 7

  • Gibberling Poobah
  • 8894 posts
  • Gender:Not Telling

Posted 09 August 2004 - 06:09 PM

Short of a scripting solution, you could try applying a spell via CLAB that uses a permanent Disable Button opcode (144). Alternatively, you could try removing all of their spells via CLAB, though we've had issues removing spell slots with Cleric Remix.

A scripting solution would be a bit more work (and not nearly as elegant), but would likely offer a lot more methods to accomplish this.

What makes a good man go neutral? Lust for gold? Power? Or were you just born with a heart full of neutrality?


#44 Andyr

Andyr

    HELLO EVERYBODY

  • Gibberlings
  • 4534 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Oxford, UK

Posted 10 August 2004 - 04:01 AM

I'd suggest using Disable Button, as Cam suggested. :(

The problem with this comes with the spell casting - the spell slots would still be there to memorise, though you'd not actually be able to cast them, so it's not perfect. This is what I did for the Justifier kit in Unfinished Business.
Since you're here, download G3 mods please...

Suggested plugs include "Click here so Compton doesn't ban me. http://www.pocketplane.net/ub"

The most reliable way to get hold of me is via email (button when viewing my profile).

#45 Rastor

Rastor

    The last time that I was sober, I was five.

  • Fixpackers
  • 379 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Baator

Posted 10 August 2004 - 09:02 AM

Not quite as elegant as the "Disable Button" solution, you could try making your kit a fighter kit and just change the proficiencies to a max of 2 stars for your kit (WeiDU's ADD_KIT does this pretty well).



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users