Jump to content


Photo

BG2 TWEAK


16 replies to this topic

#1 RAVENSCLAW

RAVENSCLAW
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 23 January 2012 - 12:07 AM

Ive downloaded bg2 fix pack and tweak pack, started a new game but I still have the problem of people not talking to me and the merchants in the adventure mart and the copper cornet are still missing. what did I do wrong?

#2 Miloch

Miloch

    Barbarian

  • Modders
  • 4715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:At Large

Posted 23 January 2012 - 12:54 AM

Hmm, could be any number of things. Might want to post the contents of your WeiDU.log (in spoiler tags so it's not spammy) so folks can see what components you've got installed.
Mod Contributions
Aurora (new release!) * BG1 NPC * Gnomes * Haiass * Level 1 NPCs * Lost Items * P5Tweaks
PnP Free Action * Thrown Hammers * Unique Containers * In Progress: Adjusted Portraits * DSotSC (Tutu)
================================================================
Player & Modder Resources
BAM Batcher * Creature Lister * PSPad Highlighters * Tutu/BGT Area Map & List * Tutu Mod List
================================================================
"Wherefore do ye toil; is it not that ye may live and be happy? And if ye toil only that ye may toil more,
when shall happiness find you?" -H.P. Lovecraft, The Quest of Iranon

#3 RAVENSCLAW

RAVENSCLAW
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 23 January 2012 - 11:54 AM

Ive downloaded bg2 fix pack and tweak pack, started a new game but I still have the problem of people not talking to me and the merchants in the adventure mart and the copper cornet are still missing. what did I do wrong?

I'm sorry I'm new to this what is a WeiDu. log?

#4 hook71

hook71
  • Members
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hok, Sweden

Posted 23 January 2012 - 12:20 PM

The weidu.log is a textfile found in your BGII-folder containing a list of installed mods in the order of installation. If you don't have any log you probably haven't installed any mod. You have to run the setup-bg2fixpack.exe and setup-bg2_tweaks.exe (in that order) from the BGII-folder to install them.

#5 RAVENSCLAW

RAVENSCLAW
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 23 January 2012 - 02:23 PM

Ive downloaded bg2 fix pack and tweak pack, started a new game but I still have the problem of people not talking to me and the merchants in the adventure mart and the copper cornet are still missing. what did I do wrong?

I tried to run set-upfixpack.exe and it says unable to open log file [SETUP-BG2 FIXPACK .DEBUG]: Sys_error("SETUP-BG2 FIXPACK.DEBUG: permission denied") WHAT'S WRONG I' M ALSO NOT VERY COMPUTER SMART. This is my first computer and only my second game Help please

#6 hook71

hook71
  • Members
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hok, Sweden

Posted 23 January 2012 - 02:32 PM

I would guess that you have Windows Vista or Windows 7 on your computer and have installed in the Program Files directory. This is an old game and does not work well with that, so I would suggest you uninstall the game and install it outside the Program Files-structure (I use C:\Games ).

#7 RAVENSCLAW

RAVENSCLAW
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 23 January 2012 - 04:46 PM

Ive downloaded bg2 fix pack and tweak pack, started a new game but I still have the problem of people not talking to me and the merchants in the adventure mart and the copper cornet are still missing. what did I do wrong?


Ive downloaded bg2 fix pack and tweak pack, started a new game but I still have the problem of people not talking to me and the merchants in the adventure mart and the copper cornet are still missing. what did I do wrong?

I tried to run set-upfixpack.exe and it says unable to open log file [SETUP-BG2 FIXPACK .DEBUG]: Sys_error("SETUP-BG2 FIXPACK.DEBUG: permission denied") WHAT'S WRONG I' M ALSO NOT VERY COMPUTER SMART. This is my first computer and only my second game Help please

I tried it and it still says the same thing I removed all the BG2 programs reinstalled it in the new folder games ran the BG2 fix but when I tried to run the exe program I got the same screen.

#8 RAVENSCLAW

RAVENSCLAW
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 23 January 2012 - 05:26 PM


Ive downloaded bg2 fix pack and tweak pack, started a new game but I still have the problem of people not talking to me and the merchants in the adventure mart and the copper cornet are still missing. what did I do wrong?


Ive downloaded bg2 fix pack and tweak pack, started a new game but I still have the problem of people not talking to me and the merchants in the adventure mart and the copper cornet are still missing. what did I do wrong?

I tried to run set-upfixpack.exe and it says unable to open log file [SETUP-BG2 FIXPACK .DEBUG]: Sys_error("SETUP-BG2 FIXPACK.DEBUG: permission denied") WHAT'S WRONG I' M ALSO NOT VERY COMPUTER SMART. This is my first computer and only my second game Help please

I tried it and it still says the same thing I removed all the BG2 programs reinstalled it in the new folder games ran the BG2 fix but when I tried to run the exe program I got the same screen.

There is no Weidu.log still

#9 hook71

hook71
  • Members
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hok, Sweden

Posted 23 January 2012 - 10:17 PM

My guess in that case would be that you have an antivirus program messing with the installation. Try turning that off temporarily and run the setup-bg2fixpack.exe again to see if it helps.

#10 RAVENSCLAW

RAVENSCLAW
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 24 January 2012 - 05:11 AM



Ive downloaded bg2 fix pack and tweak pack, started a new game but I still have the problem of people not talking to me and the merchants in the adventure mart and the copper cornet are still missing. what did I do wrong?


Ive downloaded bg2 fix pack and tweak pack, started a new game but I still have the problem of people not talking to me and the merchants in the adventure mart and the copper cornet are still missing. what did I do wrong?

I tried to run set-upfixpack.exe and it says unable to open log file [SETUP-BG2 FIXPACK .DEBUG]: Sys_error("SETUP-BG2 FIXPACK.DEBUG: permission denied") WHAT'S WRONG I' M ALSO NOT VERY COMPUTER SMART. This is my first computer and only my second game Help please

I tried it and it still says the same thing I removed all the BG2 programs reinstalled it in the new folder games ran the BG2 fix but when I tried to run the exe program I got the same screen.

There is no Weidu.log still

How do I do that I have norton secrity?

#11 hook71

hook71
  • Members
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hok, Sweden

Posted 24 January 2012 - 05:33 AM

Try this link but turn off the settings instead.

Prime candidates to try turning off is Real Time Protection and Insight Protection.

#12 RAVENSCLAW

RAVENSCLAW
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 24 January 2012 - 07:38 AM




Ive downloaded bg2 fix pack and tweak pack, started a new game but I still have the problem of people not talking to me and the merchants in the adventure mart and the copper cornet are still missing. what did I do wrong?


Ive downloaded bg2 fix pack and tweak pack, started a new game but I still have the problem of people not talking to me and the merchants in the adventure mart and the copper cornet are still missing. what did I do wrong?

I tried to run set-upfixpack.exe and it says unable to open log file [SETUP-BG2 FIXPACK .DEBUG]: Sys_error("SETUP-BG2 FIXPACK.DEBUG: permission denied") WHAT'S WRONG I' M ALSO NOT VERY COMPUTER SMART. This is my first computer and only my second game Help please

I tried it and it still says the same thing I removed all the BG2 programs reinstalled it in the new folder games ran the BG2 fix but when I tried to run the exe program I got the same screen.

There is no Weidu.log still

How do I do that I have norton secrity?


Tried what you m\said but could onle find real time protection do you have any other things I can try I try anything I am learning more with each try thank you.

#13 hook71

hook71
  • Members
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hok, Sweden

Posted 24 January 2012 - 11:59 AM

Well, grasping at straws now. Make sure you are doing the installation logged in with an Administrator account and not with a Standard user (Can be checked and changed in the User Account control panel). Also turn off User Account Control as that might interfere. Link here.

#14 RAVENSCLAW

RAVENSCLAW
  • Members
  • 30 posts

Posted 24 January 2012 - 04:11 PM

Well, grasping at straws now. Make sure you are doing the installation logged in with an Administrator account and not with a Standard user (Can be checked and changed in the User Account control panel). Also turn off User Account Control as that might interfere. Link here.

Yes Iam the only one using this computer . I have MCROSFT XP IF THAT IS ANY HELP.

#15 hook71

hook71
  • Members
  • 125 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Hok, Sweden

Posted 24 January 2012 - 05:02 PM

OK, in that case you could ignore several of my suggestions (UAC for example). You could try temporarily uninstalling Norton Security to see if things work better. Otherwise I must say I'm out of ideas.



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users