Jump to content


Photo

Bug Reports


25 replies to this topic

#1 theacefes

theacefes

    XTREME METAL ROCKER PUNK CHICK WITH ULTRA SURFBOARD

  • Gibberling Poobah
  • 2702 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Irvine, CA, USA

Posted 16 February 2010 - 01:30 PM

Please report bugs here. When reporting a bug make sure you:

- Are specific about where and when the bug occurred.
- State variables if you know what they are.


Please make sure you followed the installation instructions too. I'll throw cyber vegetables at you if you tell me that Shadow Hand broke your BG NPC Project install...or something similar. :suspect:
-Ace

My Music Reels (mod-related and others)

----

DO ~SetGlobal("omgBbqRomanceActive","GLOBAL", 2)~

#2 Creepin

Creepin
  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:Moscow

Posted 17 February 2010 - 01:25 PM

Ok, 1 minor inconsistency & 1 bug to start you off :suspect:

Firstly, while I was fighting with those chickens, I've got my non-magical dagger all of sudden snapped in half, pretty weird considering we're talking about 30 years after iron crysis.

Now, for serious business. I was fighting with those chickens (as you undoubtedly know by now), and, after slaying poor rabid critters, I still don't have the option to tell Sherry I've done it. I have K#RabidChicken set to 1, I killed all 6 chickens if Sprite_Is_DeadK#Chick being equal 6 means something... I don't remember details of how dialogue files are processed by the engine, but it looks at a first glance as if I've been offered with that one of Sherry's similar "Oh, hello dear." lines which is dead-end.

Upd: Strange Woman in Thieves Guild doesn't have any tooltip name at all:

Attached Thumbnails

  • __1041___1077___1079___1099___1084___1103___1085___1085___1099___1081_.JPG

Edited by Creepin, 17 February 2010 - 02:01 PM.


#3 Creepin

Creepin
  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:Moscow

Posted 17 February 2010 - 02:07 PM

Game CTD's when I'm trying to leave Thieves Guild via easternmost exit (the one where fence located in vanilla BG1). Unless I'm mistaken area transit trigger Door0148 points at area K#0148, which is not present among game files.

#4 Mike1072

Mike1072
  • Gibberlings
  • 1715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 17 February 2010 - 02:46 PM

Game CTD's when I'm trying to leave Thieves Guild via easternmost exit (the one where fence located in vanilla BG1). Unless I'm mistaken area transit trigger Door0148 points at area K#0148, which is not present among game files.

Out of about 500 Tutu area files, there were two that didn't seem to meet the requirements for being a valid area, and you seem to have found one already. (Good job? :suspect:) I'll look into what's up with them.

Edit: it looks like both areas are missing a .mos file, meaning that clicking on the map icon while in the area shows a blank screen. Both are quite tiny rooms, so the BG1 developers might just have not bothered giving them one. In future versions I'll revise the checks so .mos files aren't required for determining an area's validity.

Edit 2: I was able to generate the MOS files in DLTCEP in about 30 seconds by clicking random buttons. We can easily add them to SH, but I might also post them to the BG1 Fixpack (in case it ever gets done) and EasyTutu forums if I don't forget.

Edited by Mike1072, 17 February 2010 - 03:55 PM.


#5 theacefes

theacefes

    XTREME METAL ROCKER PUNK CHICK WITH ULTRA SURFBOARD

  • Gibberling Poobah
  • 2702 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Irvine, CA, USA

Posted 17 February 2010 - 08:04 PM

I knew about the chicken one already - but I am working on getting it to recognize the quest is finished. Thanks.
-Ace

My Music Reels (mod-related and others)

----

DO ~SetGlobal("omgBbqRomanceActive","GLOBAL", 2)~

#6 Mike1072

Mike1072
  • Gibberlings
  • 1715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 17 February 2010 - 08:40 PM

Firstly, while I was fighting with those chickens, I've got my non-magical dagger all of sudden snapped in half, pretty weird considering we're talking about 30 years after iron crysis.

This would be because items aren't done... or started... or what have you. The iron crisis should be a thing of the past.

#7 theacefes

theacefes

    XTREME METAL ROCKER PUNK CHICK WITH ULTRA SURFBOARD

  • Gibberling Poobah
  • 2702 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Irvine, CA, USA

Posted 17 February 2010 - 10:20 PM

Yeah I think I mentioned in one of the stickies what was and wasn't done so if you come across something that doesn't make sense, check the sticky to make sure it *shouldn't* be there. :suspect:
-Ace

My Music Reels (mod-related and others)

----

DO ~SetGlobal("omgBbqRomanceActive","GLOBAL", 2)~

#8 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Members
  • 3546 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 17 February 2010 - 11:35 PM

This is not so much of a bug report than just an install report.

Now, as I have not done much else than installed a part of the mod, I'll attach the archived debug. As you probably can see from it, it was installed with warning, probably because I hadn't any other mod installed before the Shadow Hand.

It also contains a lot of these:

Not copying [FW0004.ARE] to [override/FW0004.ARE] because it did not change
[./override/FW0005.ARE] loaded, 1808 bytes
[./override/FW0164.wed] loaded, 2542 bytes
Not copying [FW0005.ARE] to [override/FW0005.ARE] because it did not change
[./override/FW0006.ARE] loaded, 2532 bytes
[./override/FW0155.wed] loaded, 3584 bytes
Not copying [FW0006.ARE] to [override/FW0006.ARE] because it did not change
[./override/FW0007.ARE] loaded, 2456 bytes
[./override/FW0156.wed] loaded, 3712 bytes
Not copying [FW0007.ARE] to [override/FW0007.ARE] because it did not change

So I am asking; Is this purposefully done as you'll be editing those areas later, or something... as you said, the EasyTutu needs to be clean, and so I had a clean install, meaning that you wouldn't need to do the above thing, as the Tutu should have done so already.
Oh cheese, and now I just noticed I installed just the ground works and not the actual TC, ouh cheese, well guess I'll have to actually install the TC too. Posted Image
Later then.

Attached Files


Yes... I am probably still editing the post above.
FAQ for the Megamods. Frequently Answered Questions.

#9 Mike1072

Mike1072
  • Gibberlings
  • 1715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 17 February 2010 - 11:46 PM

Not copying [FW0004.ARE] to [override/FW0004.ARE] because it did not change

That's BUT_ONLY_IF_IT_CHANGES working as expected.

I believe the "INSTALLED WITH WARNINGS" is because we compile some scripts that reference creatures that we don't copy over until later (so currently it's also to be expected).

Edited by Mike1072, 17 February 2010 - 11:48 PM.


#10 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Members
  • 3546 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 18 February 2010 - 12:23 AM

Not copying [FW0004.ARE] to [override/FW0004.ARE] because it did not change

That's BUT_ONLY_IF_IT_CHANGES working as expected.

Do you mean the BUT_ONLY ? As it doesn't matter which you use.
Ah, but the question is, do you need to copy the files in the first place? As in, do you wish to waste the time just to waste the time? As the install instructions should say that you need completely clean EasyTutu, and you might want to check that the install is clean, but not copy just to copy. :suspect:

Edited by Jarno Mikkola, 18 February 2010 - 02:53 AM.

Yes... I am probably still editing the post above.
FAQ for the Megamods. Frequently Answered Questions.

#11 Mike1072

Mike1072
  • Gibberlings
  • 1715 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:Canada

Posted 18 February 2010 - 01:10 AM

Not copying [FW0004.ARE] to [override/FW0004.ARE] because it did not change

That's BUT_ONLY_IF_IT_CHANGES working as expected.

You mean the BUT_ONLY , as it doesn't matter which you use.

They are the same except that one is human readable, so I chose to explain with that one. Next time please put a "Do" in front of the sentence and end it with a question mark, unless you're trying to irritate the person you're correcting.

Ah, but the question is, do you need to copy the files in the first place?

Yes. The regexp copy does two things: it verifies that the existing areas have all needed files, plus it generates a list of these valid files. It isn't possible to rename files in a regexp copy, so you need a list of the files so you can copy and rename them individually.

#12 Creepin

Creepin
  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:Moscow

Posted 18 February 2010 - 02:19 AM

That lazy thief in Elfsong goes by the name of Sidge according to tooltip and by the name of Sammy if check combat log.

#13 Creepin

Creepin
  • Members
  • 126 posts
  • Location:Moscow

Posted 18 February 2010 - 02:50 AM

While drawbridge is lowered correctly in Wyrm's Crossing, it lacks some square elements of which map animation consists (mos, tis, whatsthename... sorry, I'm not pro in map animations :suspect: ). Here's the pic, I've highlighted "line of the cut" where there should apparently be some more squares of animation SE of the line.

P.s. yeah, too lazy to use degreenifier :laugh:

Attached Thumbnails

  • Untitled_1.jpg


#14 Jarno Mikkola

Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Members
  • 3546 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 20 February 2010 - 04:52 PM

You did know that there is a random chance that one gets a random encounter? ... somewhere between the Baldur's Gate Bridge and the Friendly Arms Inn, there was 6 archers, and my thief died. Reloaded and didn't meat them again.
I found the Gorions letter addressed to me in the Candlekeeps area(k#2612), so
Spoiler
. :suspect:
Also found the Bastard Sword in Taemon's Smith(sp?) in Beregost, the Ring of Wizardry in Friendly Arm Inns map, outside the outer wall. And the Ankheg Plate Mail in Naskel.
Yes... I am probably still editing the post above.
FAQ for the Megamods. Frequently Answered Questions.

#15 berelinde

berelinde

    The Typo Queen

  • Gibberlings
  • 8594 posts
  • Location:New Jersey, USA

Posted 20 February 2010 - 05:19 PM

Regarding the bridge graphics: That exists in the EasyTutu conversion, too, so it isn't unique to Shadow Hand. I posted a screenshot of it ages ago, but I don't think it ever got fixed.

Edited by berelinde, 20 February 2010 - 05:20 PM.

Must. Write. Faster.

cmorgan: "None of us get old around here, just more proficient at doing more stuff with less braincells!"

berelinde's mods
TolkienAcrossTheWater website
TolkienAcrossTheWater Forum



Reply to this topic



  


0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users