Jump to content


Windows Vista and IE games


9 replies to this topic

#1 berelinde

    The Typo Queen

  • Gibberlings
  • 8591 posts
  • Location:New Jersey, USA

Posted 05 April 2008 - 07:15 AM

Windows Vista is not the most user-friendly operating system for players of IE games (Baldur's Gate, Baldur's Gate II, Icewind Dale, Icewind Dale II) who like to install mods. Vista is very protective of its Program Files folder, and doesn't let you make a lot of changes. This can be a drawback if you are a modder, or even a player of mods.

To avoid hours of frustration, and the risk of having to do multiple reinstallations, here are some hints that might get you through it the first time.

What I had to do to get an installation that might be useful for a modder, i.e. one that will allow you to edit the .ini:
  • Ensure that all previous attempts at installation are gone from your computer, uninstalled, with all the folders the installation created deleted.
  • Create a directory in the C: drive that isn't Program Files. I called mine Gaming.
  • Create a folder inside Gaming called Black Isle.
  • Create a folder inside Black Isle called BGII - SoA (or Baldurs Gate, or Icewind Dale, or Icewind Dale II)
  • Begin to install the game.
  • When it gets to the part where the installer asks for the directory into which you should install the game, retype the path shown, substituting "Gaming" for "Program Files". For BG2, it was c:\gaming\black isle\bgii - soa. When I go to install Baldur's Gate, it will be c:\gaming\black isle\baldurs gate. You get the idea.
  • Complete the installation of BG and BG2. You'll use c:\gaming\black isle\baldurs gate for BG1 and c:\gaming\black isle\bgii - soa for BG2. Repeat for Icewind Dale and Icewind Dale II.
  • Install ToB. Since your registry shows the path to the game, you don't choose the installation directory.
  • Install official patch 26498. It's available from bioware.com.
  • Go to the folders, view properties, and select the security tab. Deselect the "read only" box.
  • Hit "apply" and go through all the hoops that Vista makes you go through to change the setting. Mostly, it's just hitting "continue".
  • Congratulate yourself for having avoided the 8 hour trial and error period it took me to figure out how to get an installation with an editable baldur.ini.
So, why is it important to have an editable baldur.ini, anyway? If you can't edit baldur.ini, you can't set Debug Mode=1, which means that you can't open the CLUAConsole, which is needed for debugging.

"But I'm a player, not a modder!" you might say. "I don't need to do any debugging."

That's right. You don't. It's the modder's job. But every once in a while, you might be asked to check a variable, or something like that. When I was just starting to play BG2, before I'd ever heard of mods, I ran into a problem with the paladin stronghold quest, and found help for the problem on a forum. The advice was to open the CLUAConsole and enter a bunch of SpriteIsDead variables. And this was with no mods installed at all, not even Baldurdash.

It's far easier to set it up this way from the beginning than it is to go back and do it all over.
Must. Write. Faster.

cmorgan: "None of us get old around here, just more proficient at doing more stuff with less braincells!"

berelinde's mods
TolkienAcrossTheWater website
TolkienAcrossTheWater Forum

#2 theacefes

    XTREME METAL ROCKER PUNK CHICK WITH ULTRA SURFBOARD

  • Gibberling Poobah
  • 2659 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Irvine, CA, USA

Posted 05 April 2008 - 07:43 AM

Very nice tutorial, B. This will surely save a lot of headaches for people with Vista (I already had mine. )

Quote

"But I'm a player, not a modder!" you might say. "I don't need to do any debugging."

Life without CTRL + Y is a harsh one. On the serious side, for those of you who like to progress things in mods faster, such as a romance, the console is pretty handy.
-Ace

My Music Reels (mod-related and others)

----

DO ~SetGlobal("omgBbqRomanceActive","GLOBAL", 2)~

#3 Icendoan

    King of Parsing Errors

  • Modders
  • 1704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The hall of 1000 posts!

Posted 05 April 2008 - 09:52 AM

No, when installing/modding, disable UAC (User Account Control), which not only unlocks the files, but stops the annoying messages appearing when you use some form of function.

Such as DLTCEP.

Icen
Mods in development: Keeping Yoshimo
Posted Image

#4 berelinde

    The Typo Queen

  • Gibberlings
  • 8591 posts
  • Location:New Jersey, USA

Posted 05 April 2008 - 10:05 AM

Disabling UAC controls alone is not enough to allow editing of .ini files in the Program Files area, or at least it wasn't the five or six times I tried it, using various combinations of settings.

Your best, least complicated approach is to just install the game in a directory that isn't Program Files.

YMMV, of course. Some Vista builds are more restrictive than others, and it's only going to get worse. While it's possible that earlier mini-versions of Vista, i.e. build xyzpdq.123a.7, might not have the insane security "features" that prevent editing files in the Program File directory, more recent ones seem to. It's also possible that future versions will make even more tedious workarounds necessary.

After installing in a separate Gaming directory, I have no trouble using modding tools, or at least no trouble that I wouldn't normally have. NI still gobbles up memory, DLTCEP still works the same as it always has, etc. You've got to direct the tool to the installation, of course, but you've always got to do that.
Must. Write. Faster.

cmorgan: "None of us get old around here, just more proficient at doing more stuff with less braincells!"

berelinde's mods
TolkienAcrossTheWater website
TolkienAcrossTheWater Forum

#5 Jarno Mikkola

    The Imp

  • Members
  • 3396 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The town where the dead haven't keeled over, yet. In Finland.

Posted 05 April 2008 - 10:10 AM

View Postberelinde, on Apr 5 2008, 06:15 PM, said:

You'll use c:\gaming\black isle\baldurs gate for BG1
The only problem with this is, it might be too long for the BGT-WeiDU Dos path insertion. Link.
Yes... I am probably still editing the post above.
FAQ for the Megamods. Frequently Answered Questions.

#6 berelinde

    The Typo Queen

  • Gibberlings
  • 8591 posts
  • Location:New Jersey, USA

Posted 05 April 2008 - 11:22 AM

I'm sorry. I was not clear enough.

The actual path would be

c:\gaming\black isle\baldurs gate

All that's going on is the substitution of "gaming" for "program files". If "program files" wasn't too long, "gaming" won't be.

c:\gaming\black isle\baldurs gate
c:\gaming\black isle\bgii - soa
c:\gaming\black isle\icewind dale
c:\gaming\black isle\icewind dale ii

And for EasyTutu
c:\gaming\baldursgatetutu
Must. Write. Faster.

cmorgan: "None of us get old around here, just more proficient at doing more stuff with less braincells!"

berelinde's mods
TolkienAcrossTheWater website
TolkienAcrossTheWater Forum

#7 theacefes

    XTREME METAL ROCKER PUNK CHICK WITH ULTRA SURFBOARD

  • Gibberling Poobah
  • 2659 posts
  • Gender:Female
  • Location:Irvine, CA, USA

Posted 05 April 2008 - 03:53 PM

I actually had a similar problem with enabling consoles for other crpgs, such as KOTOR. I think most of the directories in Program Files have a Compatibility Files button where your saved games and temp files get kept. Unfortunately if I am modding and I save a new version of a D file, etc, I have to make sure that the newest version saved to my actual game directory, not the Compatibility one.

I ended up having to copy the ini to My Documents, edit it, and then paste it back in the BG2 folder.

Much fun. :)
-Ace

My Music Reels (mod-related and others)

----

DO ~SetGlobal("omgBbqRomanceActive","GLOBAL", 2)~

#8 Yovaneth

  • Members
  • 208 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The Kingdom of Mourne

Posted 06 April 2008 - 02:16 PM

Somebody has to ask the 'damn-stupid' question: would a DVD-dump not work? What I mean is, I keep a full, working copy of all IE games on individual DVDs and whenever I need a new working game, I simply dump the entire contents of the DVD to a new folder, do my testing and then trash it again. No installation necessary.

Actually, I think I've just thought of a showstopper. I have all of the check CDs (TotSC, PS:T disc 2 etc.) loaded on virtual CD drives (Paragon CD-ROM Emulator). I bet Vista won't like that one little bit.

-Y-

#9 Icendoan

    King of Parsing Errors

  • Modders
  • 1704 posts
  • Gender:Male
  • Location:The hall of 1000 posts!

Posted 06 April 2008 - 02:31 PM

Ah, but if you tell UAC to stfu it leaves you alone.

Icen
Mods in development: Keeping Yoshimo
Posted Image

#10 Guest_parasol_*

  • Guests

Posted 21 August 2011 - 08:36 PM

I wish I had seen this sooner! Thank you so much for writing this, it has been a life saver. After many re-installs and torn-out hair littering the floor later, I have been able to play Baldur's Gate on Windows 7. Thanks again!




Reply to this topic



  


2 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 2 guests, 0 anonymous users